Testimonials

Located in the French River area, see what our customers have to say about Great Escape Cabins!

2020

“We had an excellent time at the the Great Escape Cabins; it really is a wonderful escape in Northern Ontario! The cabins were very clean, comfy and had beautiful views of the Murdoch River. What really made our stay was the welcoming and friendly owners, Caitland and Mike, that were always there to help and knowledgable about the surrounding areas and things we could do in the area. If you’re a fellow angler or enjoy being on the water, they also offer canoe and boat rentals. We spent almost everyday on the water and caught a ton of pike, bass, crappie and blue gills. We’re already thinking about our next visit and stay to the Great Escape Cabins. Thanks again for a wonderful time, Mike and Caitland!”
Reuben Pereira, September 2020, Google

“Just came back from a week’s stay here with my family while we visited some parks (Killarney, French River, Mashkinonje, Killbear), and it was nothing short of amazing! The owners, Caitland and Mike were so welcoming and helpful. The cabins were clean and well-furnished, but best of all was the absolutely gorgeous setting, right next to French/Murdoch River. Here, I observed many different species, but you can also fish and snowmobile.
I also personally loved seeing their chicken coop and vegetable garden (a bonus) :))
~ written on behalf of Shumin and Jeff also”
Jasmine Zhu, August 2020, Google

“The name says it all!
Perfect spot to escape, unwind and relax.
Our family made some lasting memories on our vacation, and will definitely be booking another visit in the future! Beautiful scenery, absolutely spotless cabins and TONS of activities for all ages! The owners have obviously worked very hard to create this awesome resort…a must see!”
Jenna Ronson, August 2020, Google

“Love this place so much! The owners are amazing and very helpful. Cabins are extremely clean and the environment friendly. Have been here a few times in both the summer and winter and I have never been disappointed. Great family vacation spot.”
Shelley Wagstaff, August 2020, Google

“We just got back from great escape cabins and had a wonderful weekend. I was sad to come home. We had perfect weather and were able to ice fish and snowmobile. The cabins are so homey and very cozy. The views were great, I can’t wait to go back! Highly recommend checking this place out!” Alyshia Naylor, March 2020, Google

“We spent the day and night at Great Escape Cabins this past Saturday and I honestly couldn’t of asked for a better place to celebrate a special event for my husband. Caitland and Mike went above and beyond to help make this celebration a perfect memory for us. They were always happy to help, they made sure we had everything we need, the cabins were clean, comfortable and the view… amazing!!! Couldn’t of asked for better hosts. This won’t be our last time visiting. This place is a beautiful spot for families, couples, events… Thank again to both of you, we hope to see you in the near future to make more special memories at Great Escape Cabins!!! Helene & Pat!!!” Helene, March 2020, TripAdvisor

“We spent all day Saturday there for a family event. The location was fantastic, the view and the cabins were great and the owners were AMAZING! They were so helpful and accommodating, we are all so thankful to them for helping out! Couldn’t have asked for a better location to have our surprise event! We will definitely be back!” Mel, March 2020, TripAdvisor

“I came up ice fishing/snowmobiling with a bunch of work friends and stayed in cabin 1, this place had everything you need and you are Well taken care of. Bait on site, great ice huts, connected trails close by, and an over all good time:)” Adam Howe, March 2020, TripAdvisor

“I honestly cannot recommend this place enough. The hosts are lovely people who bend over backwards to accommodate you. The views are spectacular and the area is beautiful.
But the cabins. Oh, my. Honestly, they ought to be called houses. Immaculate. Furnace heated. Comfortable, newer furniture. Fully equipped kitchens with newer appliances. Soft beds. Extra blankets. TV with about a billion channels. WIFI!
While I visited, they were constantly renovating and updating the cabins. They built an entire ice hut for fishing while I was there!
Huge parking lot, lots of room for your truck and snowmobiles. Pet friendly! Outdoor fire pit with benches the owners crafted from snow with comfy cardboard to sit on.
Seriously, the best cabin experience I’ve ever had, run by awesome people. You’ll go as a guest and leave with new friends. I know I did!” Ben Finn, March 2020, Google

“Hosts are amazing. Cabins are warm Clean and comfortable, very close to the local snowmobile trail. Would highly recommend for a great time snowmobiling or ice fishing!” Ben Stieh, February 2020, Google

“Stayed at Great Escape cabins for the weekend to do some ice fishing in the area, very nice and comfortable cabins with all the amenities you could need for a home away from home. The hosts were very friendly and helpful I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a place to stay to enjoy the outdoors or just to relax.” Blair O., January 2020, Trip Advisor

2019

“Great spot right on Murdock River. Our first time to the area was a good one and topped off the hospitality and well organized/prepped cabin at Great Escapes. We would visit again. Thank you for your hospitality and well stocked cabin. We enjoyed our stay very much.”
Puma, December 2019, Airbnb

“They go above and beyond to ensure you have an amazing experience!! You’re their top priority at the resort!! It was an amazing weekend!! We will definitely be back!!”
Moe, October 2019, Airbnb

“”Home away from home” describes Great Escape Cabins perfectly. Not only are these rustic cabins equipped fully for anything you need on a getaway, but Caitland and Mike genuinely treat you like extended family.
The cabins are clean, homey, and super comfortable. They’re situated central to so many places: Killarney, French River and Grundy Lake Provincial Parks, for starters. At the site, there’s fishing and rentals to take out on the water.
Caitland and Mike will go out of their way to get to know you, help you plan your travels, and offer advice on whatever you’re in the area for. Evenings can be spent with the family around the fire pit, sharing s’mores and stories.
I was originally disappointed when I couldn’t get a Killarney campsite for car camping, but now I’m glad I didn’t. Great Escape Cabins was a pleasant surprise, and I will be back for sure!”
Etta Chan, October 2019, Google

“Hosts Caitland and Mike are truly genuine individuals. They go above and beyond to ensure your stay is worthwhile! Cabin was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The entire family were very accommodating and pleasant. Thank you for your hospitality.”
Michael D., October 2019, Google

“We had an amazing time at Caitland’s place. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The hosts were incredibly helpful and accommodating. The location was perfect, short distance from many provincial parks. Highly recommended. We’ll definitely be back!”
Matthew Shirvan, October 2019, Google

“We were only there for 1 night but for sure will will be back and stay longer. Clean, cozy and so friendly and caring. Thanks Mike and Caitland for making our stay so great.”
Sandra Chanko, October 2019, Google

“Had an excellent time this weekend at Great Escape Cabins! Mike & Caitland were very friendly & welcoming. Also caught the biggest bass of my life in the Murdock river. Will be back!”
Nick, September 2019, Google

Excellent value for anyone looking to stay in the French River, or looking for a point of departure prior to a trek through Killarney (the reason for our stay). Caitland is an exceptional host and is very responsive!”
John, September 2019, Airbnb

“Great Escape Cabins is a great place to relax and stay. The fishing is great and so is the hospitality.”
Caleb, September 2019, Airbnb

“Stayed on the property in a trailer, beautiful camp area for trailers,along with several cabins for your northern experience. Mike and Caitland made the stay a memorable one. If you are looking to get away and enjoy a wilderness experience like no other please do not miss out on this little hidden gem.”
Steve, September 2019, Trip Advisor

“The owners are fantastic and nothing but the best hospitality. Highly recommend”
Day N Nite Towing, September 2019, Google

“Honestly, I wish I could give this place more than 5 stars. Mike and Caitland work so hard to make their rustic cabins warm and welcoming, their guests feel genuinely cared for, and their sprawling property comfortable, accessible and impeccably maintained. They are friendly and easy-going, traits that blend beautifully with their dedication to excellent customer service, which immediately made us feel more like long-lost-friends rather than “just” customers. Our trailer has been parked at their full-service campground for the summer, and it has been the BEST SUMMER EVER!! They have room for several tents or trailers (with reliable hydro, water, and septic hookups for each) on a big grassy spot carved out of the hillside and surrounded by nothing but trees, butterflies and stars! The “open concept” site is cozy and friendly, but we still felt like we had plenty of privacy as other campers came and went. As we continue to get to know the area, we are grateful to have found such a true gem! And we are happy to recommend this spot to anyone looking for a quiet, no-nonsense, fun and relaxing get-away!”
Libbie Chenier, August 2019, Google

“Caitland and Mike were incredible hosts! They were very accommodating, going above and beyond exxpectaations to make our stay a great experience. The location is beautiful, a sleepy meandering river that connects to the French River in a nature’s paradise. It’s was so peaceful, yet we had all the amenities to have an exceptional and fun stay. We will definitely return! Thank you for your gracious hospitality.”
Sandra & Steve, August 2019, Airbnb

“Amazing place to stay!! The owners, Mike and Caitland, are awesome and made our stay that much better! They were very accommodating and made sure we were comfortable, happy and having a great time. The cabins were immaculate and had everything we needed. We will definitely be back! :)”
Kelly VanderSluis

“Our stay at the Great Escapes Resort was one we will cherish. We were greeted by the friendly owners who showed us our cabin and made us feel right at home. The view from the location itself was amazing. Overlooking the water with clear skies and fresh air.
We stayed at the cabin with 2 bunk beds, and found the quality of sleep was amazing. Our little one was with us and it was nice to have room for him to run around and play in the cabin.
Also right on location was a play area filled with sand which our little guy loved playing in.
We will definitely be returning in the future.
Great price
Great location
Wonderful spot for kids and adults”
The Vissers, August 2019, Trip Advisor

“We loved our stay at Great Escape Cabins! We’ve already reserved our cabin for next summer. Great location, great accommodations, and great hosts! Awesome experience all-around!”
Genevieve Desrochers, August 2019, Facebook

“Great hospitality. Very clean and spacious cabin. Great place to relax. Very efficient hosts. We had an absolutely devine time. We will definitely return to this enchanting place.”
Lucille Pitre, August 2019, Airbnb

“Wow! What a pleasant surprise. The owner was lovely, the views were beautiful, and we had a great stay. Would definitely recommend. Thank you!”
Robin Hassen, July 2019, Google

“Beautiful location, me and my friends had a great weekend here. The boating and the accommodations were great, and everyone’s friendly and accommodating.”
Wylon, July 2019, Airbnb

“Rented a canoe and paddle boat for an afternoon. We were able to book it the morning we needed it. Fast and friendly service. Highly recommend.”
Jeremy Murray, July 2019, Google

“This place is amazing and the owners are above and beyond!!! I’ll definitely return.”
Dustin Booth, July 2019, Google

My favourite spot to date ! Caitland and Mike were outstanding hosts and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and felt at home (they went as far as to clean and cut the fish we caught so we could cook it that evening). They gave us tips on where to eat & best places to go for outdoor activities. We ended up ditching most of our plans and staying on the property as it really had everything we needed for a fun outdoor weekend. The cabin was extremely clean and was equipped with all your essentials + more. The property has a beautiful view of the river & canoes on site that you can rent. it was nice having our own BBQ at the cabin and their communal fire pit is a great spot to gather at night. We are already planning our second trip up and look forward to spending another weekend at their accomodations. Its a perfect spot for a family or group of friends, I would highly recommend staying here!
Michelle McArdle, June 2019, Google

“Fantastic property, with lots to do and explore”
Eric Stigter, May 2019, Google

“Run by a friendly family who just bought this property. It was clean and spacious. Everything you would need for a longer stay and plenty of place to unpack. We were there in winter but I imagine summer would be incredible.”
Larisa L., May 2019, Google

french river

“Loved my stay at great escape cabins! Very cute and cozy cabins with beautiful views and hospitality beyond any expectations. Thank you Caitland and Mike!”
Tiffany Withers, March 2019, Facebook

“We were met by Mike & Caitland after a full day of riding on our snowmobiles. They had our cottage warmed & gave us directions on where to eat. We were able to purchase some snacks from their office store. They have done a lot of work to get the cottages winterized & it was great to hear their future plans. We wish you the best & will be back!”
Jennifer DeBernardi, March 2019, Google

“Thank you Great Escape Cabins for a enjoyable stay! The cabin we stayed in felt like home and was very clean! We spent a few days here and got to enjoy sledding and skating along with a fire work display for new years eve! We would highly recommend Great Escape Cabins for a family winter vacation!”
Steph Erkelens, January 2019, Facebook

2018

“Perfect destination for fishing/hunting, or just to get away from it all. Surrounded by crown land and Murdock River, no other cottages as far as you can see, just river, forest and stars.
Very clean, comfortable mattresses and pillows, all linens and towels provided, we did not need to pack anything other than clothes.
Owned by nice young family, very attentive and responsive. Open year around, which is hard to find. We would definitely go back.”
Natalia Erchova, December 2018, Google

“Great place to stay! The hosts are very friendly and helpful. I can really recommend this place!”
Sven, November 2018, Airbnb

“Caitland was a great host who was super friendly and provided us great tips about the local area! We had lots of fun hiking and hunting in the nearby crown lands that Caitland suggested!”
ShiHan, November 2018, Airbnb

“Friendly and courteous hosts. Answered questions very quickly through email and were available when we needed help at the cabin. Fantastic experience. Would definitely recommend them to anyone.”
Chris, October 2018, Airbnb

“An old school (in a good way!) cabin with nice updates to the appliances. A very comfortable stay in a wonderful part of the country. I look forward to seeing how Caitland and her husband make it their own over the next few seasons!”
Brian, October 2018, Airbnb

“Caitland’s cabin was amazing. A great place for families or a group of friends to stay. The cabins are so clean and well maintain, private and cosy with a beautiful river view.”
Quan, October 2018, Airbnb

french river
Francis, October 2018, Guest Comment Card

“Nice cabins and even nicer staff. A nice place to relax.”
Andrew Harding, September 2018, Google

“Beautiful views, and the owners are great! Looking forward to visiting again!”
Melissa Sullivan, September 2018, Google

Book your Reservation today at Great Escape Cabins located on the French River.

%d bloggers like this: