Testimonials

“They go above and beyond to ensure you have an amazing experience!! You’re their top priority at the resort!! It was an amazing weekend!! We will definitely be back!!”
Moe, October 2019, Airbnb

“”Home away from home” describes Great Escape Cabins perfectly. Not only are these rustic cabins equipped fully for anything you need on a getaway, but Caitland and Mike genuinely treat you like extended family.
The cabins are clean, homey, and super comfortable. They’re situated central to so many places: Killarney, French River and Grundy Lake Provincial Parks, for starters. At the site, there’s fishing and rentals to take out on the water.
Caitland and Mike will go out of their way to get to know you, help you plan your travels, and offer advice on whatever you’re in the area for. Evenings can be spent with the family around the fire pit, sharing s’mores and stories.
I was originally disappointed when I couldn’t get a Killarney campsite for car camping, but now I’m glad I didn’t. Great Escape Cabins was a pleasant surprise, and I will be back for sure!”
Etta Chan, October 2019, Google

“Hosts Caitland and Mike are truly genuine individuals. They go above and beyond to ensure your stay is worthwhile! Cabin was clean, comfortable and well maintained. The entire family were very accommodating and pleasant. Thank you for your hospitality.”
Michael D., October 2019, Google

“We had an amazing time at Caitland’s place. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The hosts were incredibly helpful and accommodating. The location was perfect, short distance from many provincial parks. Highly recommended. We’ll definitely be back!”
Matthew Shirvan, October 2019, Google

“We were only there for 1 night but for sure will will be back and stay longer. Clean, cozy and so friendly and caring. Thanks Mike and Caitland for making our stay so great.”
Sandra Chanko, October 2019, Google

“Had an excellent time this weekend at Great Escape Cabins! Mike & Caitland were very friendly & welcoming. Also caught the biggest bass of my life in the Murdock river. Will be back!”
Nick, September 2019, Google

Excellent value for anyone looking to stay in the French River, or looking for a point of departure prior to a trek through Killarney (the reason for our stay). Caitland is an exceptional host and is very responsive!”
John, September 2019, Airbnb

“Great Escape Cabins is a great place to relax and stay. The fishing is great and so is the hospitality.”
Caleb, September 2019, Airbnb

“Stayed on the property in a trailer, beautiful camp area for trailers,along with several cabins for your northern experience. Mike and Caitland made the stay a memorable one. If you are looking to get away and enjoy a wilderness experience like no other please do not miss out on this little hidden gem.”
Steve, September 2019, Trip Advisor

“The owners are fantastic and nothing but the best hospitality. Highly recommend”
Day N Nite Towing, September 2019, Google

“Honestly, I wish I could give this place more than 5 stars. Mike and Caitland work so hard to make their rustic cabins warm and welcoming, their guests feel genuinely cared for, and their sprawling property comfortable, accessible and impeccably maintained. They are friendly and easy-going, traits that blend beautifully with their dedication to excellent customer service, which immediately made us feel more like long-lost-friends rather than “just” customers. Our trailer has been parked at their full-service campground for the summer, and it has been the BEST SUMMER EVER!! They have room for several tents or trailers (with reliable hydro, water, and septic hookups for each) on a big grassy spot carved out of the hillside and surrounded by nothing but trees, butterflies and stars! The “open concept” site is cozy and friendly, but we still felt like we had plenty of privacy as other campers came and went. As we continue to get to know the area, we are grateful to have found such a true gem! And we are happy to recommend this spot to anyone looking for a quiet, no-nonsense, fun and relaxing get-away!”
Libbie Chenier, August 2019, Google

“Caitland and Mike were incredible hosts! They were very accommodating, going above and beyond exxpectaations to make our stay a great experience. The location is beautiful, a sleepy meandering river that connects to the French River in a nature’s paradise. It’s was so peaceful, yet we had all the amenities to have an exceptional and fun stay. We will definitely return! Thank you for your gracious hospitality.”
Sandra & Steve, August 2019, Airbnb

“Amazing place to stay!! The owners, Mike and Caitland, are awesome and made our stay that much better! They were very accommodating and made sure we were comfortable, happy and having a great time. The cabins were immaculate and had everything we needed. We will definitely be back! :)”
Kelly VanderSluis

“Our stay at the Great Escapes Resort was one we will cherish. We were greeted by the friendly owners who showed us our cabin and made us feel right at home. The view from the location itself was amazing. Overlooking the water with clear skies and fresh air.
We stayed at the cabin with 2 bunk beds, and found the quality of sleep was amazing. Our little one was with us and it was nice to have room for him to run around and play in the cabin.
Also right on location was a play area filled with sand which our little guy loved playing in.
We will definitely be returning in the future.
Great price
Great location
Wonderful spot for kids and adults”
The Vissers, August 2019, Trip Advisor

“We loved our stay at Great Escape Cabins! We’ve already reserved our cabin for next summer. Great location, great accommodations, and great hosts! Awesome experience all-around!”
Genevieve Desrochers, August 2019, Facebook

“Great hospitality. Very clean and spacious cabin. Great place to relax. Very efficient hosts. We had an absolutely devine time. We will definitely return to this enchanting place.”
Lucille Pitre, August 2019, Airbnb

“Wow! What a pleasant surprise. The owner was lovely, the views were beautiful, and we had a great stay. Would definitely recommend. Thank you!”
Robin Hassen, July 2019, Google

“Beautiful location, me and my friends had a great weekend here. The boating and the accommodations were great, and everyone’s friendly and accommodating.”
Wylon, July 2019, Airbnb

“Rented a canoe and paddle boat for an afternoon. We were able to book it the morning we needed it. Fast and friendly service. Highly recommend.”
Jeremy Murray, July 2019, Google

“This place is amazing and the owners are above and beyond!!! I’ll definitely return.”
Dustin Booth, July 2019, Google

My favourite spot to date ! Caitland and Mike were outstanding hosts and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and felt at home (they went as far as to clean and cut the fish we caught so we could cook it that evening). They gave us tips on where to eat & best places to go for outdoor activities. We ended up ditching most of our plans and staying on the property as it really had everything we needed for a fun outdoor weekend. The cabin was extremely clean and was equipped with all your essentials + more. The property has a beautiful view of the river & canoes on site that you can rent. it was nice having our own BBQ at the cabin and their communal fire pit is a great spot to gather at night. We are already planning our second trip up and look forward to spending another weekend at their accomodations. Its a perfect spot for a family or group of friends, I would highly recommend staying here!
Michelle McArdle, June 2019, Google

“Fantastic property, with lots to do and explore”
Eric Stigter, May 2019, Google

“Run by a friendly family who just bought this property. It was clean and spacious. Everything you would need for a longer stay and plenty of place to unpack. We were there in winter but I imagine summer would be incredible.”
Larisa L., May 2019, Google

“Loved my stay at great escape cabins! Very cute and cozy cabins with beautiful views and hospitality beyond any expectations. Thank you Caitland and Mike!”
Tiffany Withers, March 2019, Facebook

“We were met by Mike & Caitland after a full day of riding on our snowmobiles. They had our cottage warmed & gave us directions on where to eat. We were able to purchase some snacks from their office store. They have done a lot of work to get the cottages winterized & it was great to hear their future plans. We wish you the best & will be back!”
Jennifer DeBernardi, March 2019, Google

“Thank you Great Escape Cabins for a enjoyable stay! The cabin we stayed in felt like home and was very clean! We spent a few days here and got to enjoy sledding and skating along with a fire work display for new years eve! We would highly recommend Great Escape Cabins for a family winter vacation!”
Steph Erkelens, January 2019, Facebook

“Perfect destination for fishing/hunting, or just to get away from it all. Surrounded by crown land and Murdock River, no other cottages as far as you can see, just river, forest and stars.
Very clean, comfortable mattresses and pillows, all linens and towels provided, we did not need to pack anything other than clothes.
Owned by nice young family, very attentive and responsive. Open year around, which is hard to find. We would definitely go back.”
Natalia Erchova, December 2018, Google

“Great place to stay! The hosts are very friendly and helpful. I can really recommend this place!”
Sven, November 2018, Airbnb

“Caitland was a great host who was super friendly and provided us great tips about the local area! We had lots of fun hiking and hunting in the nearby crown lands that Caitland suggested!”
ShiHan, November 2018, Airbnb

“Friendly and courteous hosts. Answered questions very quickly through email and were available when we needed help at the cabin. Fantastic experience. Would definitely recommend them to anyone.”
Chris, October 2018, Airbnb

“An old school (in a good way!) cabin with nice updates to the appliances. A very comfortable stay in a wonderful part of the country. I look forward to seeing how Caitland and her husband make it their own over the next few seasons!”
Brian, October 2018, Airbnb

“Caitland’s cabin was amazing. A great place for families or a group of friends to stay. The cabins are so clean and well maintain, private and cosy with a beautiful river view.”
Quan, October 2018, Airbnb

Francis, October 2018, Guest Comment Card

“Nice cabins and even nicer staff. A nice place to relax.”
Andrew Harding, September 2018, Google

“Beautiful views, and the owners are great! Looking forward to visiting again!”
Melissa Sullivan, September 2018, Google

%d bloggers like this: